The Alamo National Bank Building stands 24 stories tall on San Antonio’s historic Paseo del Rio, spanning one city block facing St. Mary’s Street. Built of structural steel and concrete, construction was complete by 1929 in the early days of the Great Depression. The building is trimmed in granite and marble, elegant terra cotta embellishments, molded plaster and decorative bronze. The Alamo National Bank occupied the first three floors, and other commercial tenants occupied the upper floors. Over the years, the building housed a number of banks but the original building layout did not change. In 1956, a metal sign and weather gauge was installed on the roof to advertise Alamo National Bank. The neon spire rises six stories above the building and has become a landmark on San Antonio’s Riverwalk. A parking garage was added in 1961.
While undergoing renovation in 2005, the Alamo National Bank Building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Drury Hotels’ careful renovation preserved many of the unique period features in the lobby, like stained glass windows, bronze framework, marble walls and travertine flooring. The original chandeliers from construction in 1929 have been refurbished and still hang today from the 50-foot ceilings in the main lobby. The original parking garage was expanded, which connected the north and south pedestrian paths of the Riverwalk into one continuous loop.
In 2007, the Alamo National Bank Building opened as Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk. This building has always been one of the tallest buildings in downtown San Antonio. In the renovation, the rooftop was converted into a pool and observation deck with 360-degree views of the city. Larger spaces were converted into premium suites, and a former lounge on the fourth floor has been converted into a ballroom with a balcony for private events.